Stitch Fix Review – January 2016

StitchFixReviewJanuary2016

Happy New Year all!

I started 2016 off with a new Stitch Fix, which helped chase the Christmas-being-over blues away.

(If you are new to Stitch Fix skip to the end of this post for a short description of the whats and how-tos & for a link to sign up for your own box of happiness!)

For January, I asked for 1 item from my Pinterest board & the rest my wonderful stylist could just surprise me:

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 6.51.20 PM

When the boxed arrived, I noticed right away it was BIG (which means lots of fun winter warmness!).

IMG_1625

My favorite part is opening up the box to see all the clothing wrapped up!

IMG_1628

The note from Jennifer said that she couldn’t find anything off my Pinterest board, which is a bummer, but she did find TWO cardigans (my favorite winter staple) and, wait for it, a pair of jeans with a LONG inseam!

IMG_1643

First glance looked promising!

IMG_1646

Now, before we go further, I need to tell you – I was sick with a cold that kept me in bed the better part of the past 2 days.  But I needed to check out, so I showered, put make up on, and took some pictures with the clothes on – but don’t look too closely because, um, I’m a little rough around the edges!

Item # 1: Lila Ryan Liza Skinny Jean

IMG_1651

Last month, Jennifer sent me a pair of green skinnies that I ended up sending back because of the price tag & color.  This month, she followed up with a pair of traditional blue skinnies, but the length is just fabulous & the price is $88 (much lower than what I’m usually sent in SF jeans).

IMG_1704

IMG_1706

You guys, I’m on the fence about these jeans.  I love the length, but the rise is a little lower than I’m used to (hello, muffin top).  It doesn’t help that I tried squeezed them on after the holidays.

Item # 2: Mystree Jack Cable Knit Pullover Sweater

IMG_1647

My initial thought was “that’s a lot of brown”.  But, I tried it on with the jeans from the box & liked it much better on than not.

IMG_1676

The sweater is super soft & warm!  And the sleeve length is perfect, which is hard for me to find.

IMG_1679

Item # 3: Le Lis Briar Raglan Knit Top

IMG_1650

This was the only non-sweater top in the fix & I am not a fan.  I typically love stripes, but the band at the waist hits me at a funny spot, highlighting the wrong area, and the length on this one is too short.

IMG_1675

The sleeves were short, too.  I did pair it with a cardigan (the style card suggested that) and liked it better that way, but in the end, this one went back.

IMG_1670

Item # 4: Pixley Dali Open Drape Cardigan

IMG_1666

The color on this cardigan is wonderful!!  It brightens up my winter wardrobe and I love that!

IMG_1656

Unfortunately, there’s a “but”.  The sweater has 10% rabbit hair in it, which isn’t much and 10% typically doesn’t bother me, but I noticed the itch in this cardigan, so I won’t keep it (because I know myself – I won’t wear it).

IMG_1661

Item # 5: Staccato Bjorn Geo Knit Draped Front Cardigan

IMG_1719

Oh man, I love this cardigan.  I don’t mind the muted colors at all – and the pattern is so fun.  The fabric is thin, which is nice because I can wear it in Spring/Fall, too (not just winter).

IMG_1716

Sadly, I noticed several snags in the fabric.  Am I the only one who checks my items with a fine tooth comb?  If the fabric snags that easily, this cardi won’t be kid-friendly.  Having 2 kids, I knew this one has to go back.

StitchFixReviewJan2016

Overall – I am happy with January’s fix!  I am contemplating 2 items & had near misses on most.  The only item I really didn’t like was the Le Lis top.

I love Stitch Fix!  If you follow this blog, you know I subscribe to other boxes, and while I enjoy all of them, if I had to pick just one, hands down, it would be Stitch Fix.

Want to see past fixes?  Check them out:

November Review

December Review

Here’s to a new year of fun & fixes!  Cheers all!

IMG_1725

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s Stitch Fix?

Here’s how it works if you’re not familiar.You sign up here using my referral link pretty please (https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/4736270), fill out an in depth style/size profile, pay $20 styling fee, they ship you 5 items, you keep what you want, and mail back the rest.

If you buy anything, your $20 styling fee goes towards that purchase. If you buy all 5 items you get 25% off your order. It is totally free to mail your returns in. They send you all you need to do that.

You can do it as a monthly service or you can just schedule them whenever you want.

To get better items connect them with your style Pinterest board, give them a lot of feedback in the notes section, and fill out your style profile honestly.

For a list of my fix reviews, go here.

 

6 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review – January 2016

Leave a Reply

