Stitch Fix Review – August 2016

IMG_4555

Since I scheduled 2 fixes in July, it seems like before I knew it, it was time to review my August Stitch Fix box!

(If you are new to Stitch Fix skip to the end of this post for a short description of the whats and how-tos & for a link to sign up for your own box of happiness!)

This fix, I didn’t request anything, but just told my stylist:

Screen Shot 2016-07-30 at 3.32.09 PM

And boy, did I get a surprise – but not a good one 😦

My stylist of over a year, Jennifer, is “no longer able to style me”.  I assume that means she left the company.  Boo.  She sent me the best fixes, and I felt like we had a good groove going.

A new girl – Jenn – who styled my most recent fix (here) also styled my August fix and offered to become my permanent stylist from now on.  While I loved my previous fix, where I kept the floral maxi and Market & Spruce knit top, I am not a fan of this fix as much.  The items that were off were REALLY off.

That being said, I plan to stick with Jenn!  She wrote some very personable notes and took notice of my Pinterest board, both of which are important to me.  I keep my Pinterest board up-to-date and clean (less than 50 pins) with notes under each pin.

Anyway….let’s dig into August’s box!

IMG_4547

It was a BIG box this time!

IMG_4548

The good news is that there was lots of color!

IMG_4562

So…what did I get?

Item # 1:  London Times Lynx Dress

IMG_4506

My immediate thought pulling this dress out of the box was “ew”.  I didn’t like the fabric or color at all.

IMG_4574

IMG_4575

IMG_4580

My husband, after I tried it on, loved it!  He liked the green color and the cut.  I have to admit that this dress grew on me after trying it on but I still don’t love it enough to keep it.  I thought $88 was a little high for such a plain dress (my floral maxi was only $78 in comparison) and I still don’t love the color.  I sent this back.

Item # 2:  Urban Expressions Elisha Zipper Accent Structured Satchel

IMG_4507

So since the iPhone preview didn’t give me a picture when I peeked, I had no idea what to expect.  Let me tell you – I was not expecting ORANGE.  Wow.

IMG_4598

This bag was too big & too orange.  I wasn’t even tempted to keep it (but then I like smaller bags unless I’m using it for a weekend getaway).

IMG_4604

The inside had a fun pattern though!

IMG_4553

I know lots of Stitch Fixers like this bag style, but it’s just not me – sent it back.

Item # 3: Le Lis Crois Woven Back Knit Top

IMG_4509

This was a cute, fun piece!  I’ve not seen it before on Pinterest, so it was new to me!  I was excited to try it on.

IMG_4605

IMG_4609

IMG_4610.JPG

So – I loved the stripes, the knit, and the mixed material!  It is a fun piece, but I felt like it was too flowy to be flattering on me.  The cap sleeves made my shoulders look broader and just overall I didn’t feel pretty in this piece.  I knew if I didn’t love it right now, I wouldn’t wear it later on so I sent it back.

Item # 4: Kut from the Kloth Kate Distressed Boyfriend Jean

IMG_4508

IMG_4587

IMG_4595

Since I’ve been doing Stitch Fix for a year and a half now, I knew that these Kut from the Kloth jeans were super popular & sent out in a lot of fixes.  I had previously bought these jeans online & not through Stitch Fix.  While I love the fabric, fit, and distressing of these jeans, they are just too short.  So I knew, when I saw these were coming, they would also be too short.  The Kut from the Kloth boyfriend jeans fit like capris on me.  I want them to fit like boyfriend jeans and need 2 more inches in the inseam for that.  I love them – but too short so sent back.

Item # 5: Papermoon Rutland Swing Knit Top

IMG_4510

Of all the items I was sent, I liked this one the best!  Look at that price!  It’s nice to be sent a “bargain” for a change 🙂

IMG_4593

Pink. Floral. Swing. Knit. Love.

IMG_4597

Overall, though, I wasn’t thrilled with my fix.  Maybe I’m too picky as time goes on, but I’ve gotten used to having a lot of near-misses in the items I send back.  This time, the stuff I didn’t like, I really, really didn’t like.  Plus the jeans should have been a no-brainer that they wouldn’t work for me since I marked “long/tall” all over my style profile.

That being said – I am working with a new stylist now and we need to get to know each other.  If I had known that I wouldn’t be getting Jennifer back, I wouldn’t have asked for a “surprise me” fix.  I would have given more instruction.

So..am I excited for my next fix?  Yep!  Can’t wait!! 🙂

IMG_4560

 

Want to see past fixes?  Check them out:

February Review

March Review

April Review

May Review

June Review

July Review # 1

July Review # 2

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s Stitch Fix?

Here’s how it works if you’re not familiar.You sign up here using my referral link pretty please (https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/4736270), fill out an in depth style/size profile, pay $20 styling fee, they ship you 5 items, you keep what you want, and mail back the rest.

If you buy anything, your $20 styling fee goes towards that purchase. If you buy all 5 items you get 25% off your order. It is totally free to mail your returns in. They send you all you need to do that.

You can do it as a monthly service or you can just schedule them whenever you want.

To get better items connect them with your style Pinterest board, give them a lot of feedback in the notes section, and fill out your style profile honestly.

For a list of my fix reviews, go here.

IMG_4557

 

One thought on “Stitch Fix Review – August 2016

Leave a Reply

