Stitch Fix Review – December 2016

img_6815

December is well underway & with it, a new Stitch Fix review!  I postponed this box a couple weeks because I knew that earlier in the month would be too busy for me to write a review.  Plus, it’s kind of fun getting a box of goodies right around Christmas; I mean, it feels like Christmas anytime a Stitch Fix box shows up at my door, but now it actually IS!

(Btw, if you are new to Stitch Fix skip to the end of this post for a short description of the whats and how-tos & for a link to sign up for your own box of happiness!)

For my December box, I asked my stylist, Kate, for tops to wear with leggings & boots because basically that’s ALL I wear in the winter months.  I also mentioned a pendant necklace & Christmas Eve dress.

screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-3-55-20-pm

As per usual, Kate listened to my note and sent the things I asked for (she’s fantastic like that).

img_6813

My initial thought was there wasn’t a whole lot of color here – kind of dull colors that matched the season.

img_6821

But, as always, I was excited to try it all on and see what fit & worked for me!

Item # 1:  Bancroft Leighton Metal Bauble Necklace

img_6881

First impressions of this necklace is that it isn’t something I would EVER pick out for myself.  It’s a little too gaudy for my tastes.

img_6823

After trying it on with a couple outfits I already own and pairing it with the clothes that came in my box, I still didn’t like it – this is going back (I would have preferred a pendant necklace for sure!)

img_6863

Item # 2:  Laila Jayde Cordi Button Cuff Knit Top

img_6877

Pulling this top out of the box, I liked it!  I don’t have anything in my closet this color & it’s totally in season this fall/winter.  Plus the length is fantastic, a tunic, which is what I wanted.

img_6861

And the button cuffs were a cute detail, too.

img_6854

But after trying it one, the first comment my husband made was that the top is see-through.  And it is (bummer).  I *know* I can wear a cami under it, but for $58, I don’t want to have to – I wish this top was a bit thicker.  I’ll be sending this back, too.

img_6858

Item # 3:  41Hawthorn Eevie Textured Sweater Dress

img_6878

So I was a bit bummed to see this dress in my fix.  I did want a Christmas Eve dress, but I was hoping to get something more unique & not just a plain, black dress.

img_6845

The fabric is pretty rough, so it’s not a comfortable dress.

img_6849

And it’s short-sleeved, which is not weather appropriate for winter.  I know, I could add a cardigan, but for $88, I want a dress that is fun, unique, colorful, and warmer.  This goes back, too.

img_6851

Item # 4:  Papermoon Belford Raglan Knit top

 

img_6879

So Kate said in her note that I could wear this Raglan with leggings or jeans, but this top was WAY too short for leggings (I paired it with them so you can see).

img_6866

It’s a soft, cute top, and I could wear it with jeans, but it’s a total no-go for leggings.

img_6867

It’s a little pricey for the simplicity of it ($48), so I think I’ll send this one back, too.  If it was longer, I’d be more inclined to keep it.

Item # 5:  Hummingbird Bee Hooded Pocket Cardigan

img_6880

When I pulled this cardigan out of the box, I thought “Holy crap, I’m keeping this for SURE”, which is what I basically think about any cardigan that exists.  I love them.  I would wear them ALL the time.

img_6876

It’s so warm.  So soft.  Nice & long.  And it’s hooded!

img_6874

It’s basically all my favorite things in a cardigan.  My only complaint is that it doesn’t hold a shape well; so it looks pretty unflattering unless I’m holding it in place.

img_6875

I think that I dislike the cut of this cardigan enough, that I’ll send it back…with a few tears…

img_6869

So: if you are keeping track, my plan is to send all 5 items back.  That’s something that rarely happens to me, but this fix was just off for me.  Maybe, after 2 years of Stitch Fix, I’m getting too picky?  Or maybe Stitch Fix can’t read my mind ALL the time 😉

Whatever the reason, this fix wasn’t my favorite but that’s ok!  Hopefully my stylist does better next time 🙂

What do you think?  Would you have kept something that I sent back?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s Stitch Fix?

Here’s how it works if you’re not familiar.You sign up here using my referral link pretty please (https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/4736270), fill out an in depth style/size profile, pay $20 styling fee, they ship you 5 items, you keep what you want, and mail back the rest.

If you buy anything, your $20 styling fee goes towards that purchase. If you buy all 5 items you get 25% off your order. It is totally free to mail your returns in. They send you all you need to do that.

You can do it as a monthly service or you can just schedule them whenever you want.

To get better items connect them with your style Pinterest board, give them a lot of feedback in the notes section, and fill out your style profile honestly.

For a list of my fix reviews, go here.

fullsizerender-1

One thought on “Stitch Fix Review – December 2016

  1. Hi there! I totally agree with all your decisions not to keep any item. I would have loved that burgundy knit top too if it wasn’t see through and yes we can wear a cami underneath but for that price it should have been a thicker material. Also I don’t think your being too picky, I’m still new to SF but my last fix which was my 2nd was a complete fail so I returned everything all 5 and they emailed me how they can fix it so I agreed for a redo and they covered my styling fee so I wouldn’t have to get charged again. So you should definitely email them and see if you can get a redo box! Thanks for sharing your review, I loved your honesty and your input. Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

