Stitch Fix Review – February 2017

img_7702

February has simply *flown* by & I can’t believe it’s time for me to write up another Stitch Fix review!

I gave basically no instructions in my note to my wonderful stylist, Kate, this month.  I told her this fix would be my (early) birthday fix AND my “I’m going on my first Disney Cruise” fix! *insert SQUEAL here*

fullsizerender-6

Kate styled this fix with the cruise in mind and none of the items were on my pinterest board.  She did a fantastic job!

img_7665

My initial thoughts just looking at the items out of box were that I loved the colors & summery items.  It’s refreshing to get non-sweater items in a fix!

img_7676

(Btw, if you are new to Stitch Fix skip to the end of this post for a short description of the whats and how-tos & for a link to sign up for your own box of happiness!)

img_7681

I had a lot of fun playing around with pictures this fix – the colors and patterns of items made it FUN!

img_7701

I tried on this box quickly because I want your opinion, as usual, and this time I have until Tuesday to decide!

Item # 1: Hazel Fawcett Embroidery Detail Knit Top

Item # 2:  Kut from the Kloth Siena Cropped Pant

img_7693

img_7694

Kate picked this top out & suggested I pair it with the fuchsia cropped pants she also sent.  She thought it would be a great causal outfit for the cruise.  So I paired them together trying things on.

img_7724

I love the color of the pants.  And the embroidered top is a little flowy, but super summery and feels like a fun top for the cruise.

img_7729

The pants fit  like a glove & are bright & PINK (I love pink).

img_7732

The top’s embroidered detail is gorgeous.  I love it.

img_7731

I’m undecided on both of these though.  The pants are a little snug in the calves.  I’ve always had big calves, so this isn’t an unusual problem for me.  And the top is a little boxy.  Any thoughts on these pieces?

Item # 3:  En Creme Pearla Ruffle Hem Knit Top

img_7692

Let me start by saying: black & white stripes.  LOVE.

img_7742

I love this top!  I love the stripes and I’ve always loved the peplum look.  This isn’t true peplum, but it’s close.

img_7751

Buuuuuut….the peplum/ruffle hem isn’t super flattering.  Will I wear this piece?  I think I will.

img_7756

Jonathan isn’t a fan of this one, but I can’t help it.  I really love it.  Be honest, y’all.  I can take it.  Is this top worth keeping?  Or is the peplum/ruffle hem a no-go?

Item # 4:  Renee C Reyna Knit Maxi Dress

img_7695

Jonathan loves maxi dresses, and so he was happy to see Kate sent one for our vacation.

img_7759

This is a super long maxi dress – crazy it’s long enough for my 6 foot self.

img_7771

It basically screams “beach” with it’s bright colors and fun chevron pattern, doesn’t it?

img_7761

I don’t know, though.  I feel like this isn’t that flattering on me.  The elastic waist isn’t my favorite.  I’m, SHOCKER, undecided on this, too.

Item # 5:  Fun2Fun Nova Crochet Detail Tunic

img_7696

Kate mentioned that this tunic could be worn with shorts and strappy sandals OR it could be used as a cute swimsuit coverup.  I love both ideas.

img_7781

img_7775

I love the length!  I love that it’s white.  I am not a fan that it’s see-through.

img_7780

 

It IS super fun to wear with shorts and sandals, though.

img_7784

Guess what?  I’m undecided on this one, too.

I feel like I could go either extreme with this fix: either I keep 1 item (probably the blue tunic or striped top) or I keep it all!!  This is what I love about Stitch Fix: you have 3 full days to decide.  I like being about to sleep on it, get outside opinions (YOU!!), and pair my new Stitch Fix pieces with items already in my closet.

I’ll come back and update this blog, letting you what I keep for my upcoming cruise!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s Stitch Fix?

Here’s how it works if you’re not familiar.You sign up here using my referral link pretty please (https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/4736270), fill out an in depth style/size profile, pay $20 styling fee, they ship you 5 items, you keep what you want, and mail back the rest.

If you buy anything, your $20 styling fee goes towards that purchase. If you buy all 5 items you get 25% off your order. It is totally free to mail your returns in. They send you all you need to do that.

You can do it as a monthly service or you can just schedule them whenever you want.

To get better items connect them with your style Pinterest board, give them a lot of feedback in the notes section, and fill out your style profile honestly.

For a list of my fix reviews, go here.

img_7674

10 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review – February 2017

  1. I say keep the dress and the striped top. I do like the pink pants but if you don’t love them you may not ever wear them. I’m pretty meh on the embroidered top and don’t think the white top would be very useful with little kids and being see-through. 🙂

    Like

  2. I think all the tops are super cute, and look great on you. You are right about the dress, it just doesn’t fit your body the way it should. The pants are pretty cute too, just depends how comfortable you are in them. For me, definitely 3/5 or 4/5 if you kept the pants.

    Like

  3. Great fix for a cruise! I actually have the pink pants and love them! They go with a lot more than you’d think, although I don’t like the pairing with the blue top here. I’d pair with either the white top or the peplum. I like the dress and all of the tops on you, I’d keep it all!

    Like

  4. What a fun box! I loved the Fun2Fun top, Kut From The Kloth pants & the Hazel top. For the Hazel top I would wear a light white camisole underneath. But will that be too many layers for you? I have big calves too… so I can relate to it being tight. If you feel like you are constantly tugging them down, then I would say don’t get them. All three of these pieces do look great on you & they are versatile so you can build upon them. That is always a “win” for me. Have fun on your trip & happy early birthday!

    Like

  5. Keep it all! I think it all looks fantastic on you! I pinned the maxi dress as a NEED!! I’m 5’11 and can NEVER find maxis long enough for me!

    Like

  6. What did you keep? I’m a fan of the first outfit, the embroidered top w/ fuschia cropped pant. Let us know! The others are just okay, I feel like you could do better at Target or TJ Maxx, just saying.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reminding me to post what I kept!

      I decided to keep only the En Creme black & white striped top. I am in love with it. And the price is lower than most SF items.

      What I didn’t keep….

      Pink pants: I googled them and what I saw from other people’s fixes, they should have fit more like cropped pants and not capris. Which is probably why they were so tight in the calves, too, even with my bigger calves.

      Maxi dress: This was hard. I loved the length and the pattern was bright and fun. But in the end, the elastic waist and fit overall made me think I wouldn’t wear it enough to justify $80.

      Sheer White tank: Too sheer. I know, I could have gone with a cami, but I don’t like having to. And I already have a white swimsuit coverup.

      Blue Embroidered top: Too boxy. My husband loved this one but for $60, I didn’t want to keep it if I felt like it wasn’t flattering.

      There you have it! I deliberate WAY too much on these boxes. lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

