Stitch Fix Review – March 2017

IMG_8103

March has arrived & is already half over!  So far, I think the month of March has brought colder days that February, ironically.  But I’m still in a SPRING mood – so much so, that I put most of my sweaters away and pulled out my lighter items.  Maybe that was a little premature, given our frosty weather (there’s SNOW in the forecast this weekend, y’all), but I couldn’t help it!

IMG_8180

I pushed my March Stitch Fix box up by a week so that it would arrive before vacation.  I figured I would rather have the new clothes *before* vacation and not afterwards.

IMG_8178

March’s box was small but packed a BRIGHT punch!  I loved the floral print immediately out of the box (I’m totally crushing on florals this spring).

IMG_8181

I asked for another maxi dress this fix.  If you remember from February’s fix, I received a maxi dress that I almost kept but decided, ultimately, that the elastic waistline was a deal breaker for me.  But I really wanted a maxi dress to take on vacation and I figured if ANYONE could find another maxi dress long enough for me, it would be Stitch Fix.

IMG_8179

(Btw, if you are new to Stitch Fix skip to the end of this post for a short description of the whats and how-tos & for a link to sign up for your own box of happiness!)

IMG_8100

Let’s dig in to March’s Stitch Fix and see what Kate sent me!

*Spoiler alert* she did find another maxi that was almost TOO long for me (WHAT!?!).

Item # 1:  Catherine Malandrino Meia Ladder Bar Pendant Necklace

IMG_8028

When this necklace arrived, it was a tangled mess that took me a good 10 minutes & several cuss words to unravel.

IMG_8183

This was the only item Kate sent that was on my Pinterest board.  I love pendant necklaces of all kinds these days.

IMG_8182

I love the layers and pendant length.  I wasn’t a huge fan of the tail ends.  According to the style card the necklace should look like this on:

IMG_8177

But those two little dangles look weird to me.  I pulled them through, making the necklace longer, and liked it much better.  You’ll see that in the next set of pictures.

Item # 2:  Lemon Tart Shania Knit Maxi Dress

IMG_8030

“Holy cow!  That is an expensive dress!” were basically my first thoughts after checking the price list.  I mean, wow.  This is a $100 maxi dress.  Ouch.

But you guys, this is, by far, hands down, no competition, THE LONGEST MAXI DRESS I’ve  ever tried on.  Ever.  And I’m 6 foot tall.

IMG_8175

Besides the price, my other complaint about this dress is that the V-neck is SUPER deep.  I would never wear it without a cami underneath, like what is pictured.

IMG_8176

Because of the price and v-neck cut, I probably won’t keep this maxi, even though it truly is deliciously long.  It pains me to send it back for that reason alone.  PAINS ME.

Item # 3:  Olive & Oak Ailie Swing Knit Tank

IMG_8032

This tank top was my husband’s favorite of the bunch.

IMG_8173

I do really love that it’s knit & the colors are great!

IMG_8172

But I’m not a huge fan of the pattern, personally.  I try to think: “would I pick this out in a store, or am I just tempted to keep it because Stitch Fix sent it to me?”.

IMG_8174

I feel like outside of it being a Stitch Fix item, I wouldn’t keep this.  I’ll probably send this back.

Item # 4:  Daniel Rainn Albado Crew Neck Blouse

IMG_8031

Item # 5:  Dear John Finnegan Cuffed Shorts

IMG_8029

Kate told me to style these 2 items together, so I did. 🙂

IMG_8171

Now *this* is an outfit I can picture wearing on a cruise ship!  I mean, besides the pale girl wearing this outfit, the whole ensemble is screaming SUMMER and BEACH!

IMG_8169

When I took these pictures today, it was 33 degrees out.  I was mentally working really hard to think WARM thoughts!

IMG_8170

I love, love the shorts.  I like the brand “Dear John” and have a couple pairs of that brand already.  They are a good length; they don’t ride up or make me pick a wedgie every 10 minutes, which is a great plus for anyone who happens to be around me.  And this color is such a great pale blue, with white undertones.  I plan to keep the shorts!

IMG_8168

Let’s talk about this blouse.  It’s gorgeous, super fun, & flattering (not too boxy or billowy).  But it’s 100% polyester (not my favorite fabric).  And Daniel Rainn is one of those brands I can easily find local to me at TJ Maxx, so it’s always hard for me to pay more than $20 for the brand.  I don’t think I will keep this either, just because of the cost.  But I could be convinced otherwise, if you think it’s a keeper!

IMG_8167

All in all, I loved my March Stitch Fix box!  There were, as usual, a couple near-misses, and one great pair of shorts!!

Would you have kept something different?  What item was your favorite?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s Stitch Fix?

Here’s how it works if you’re not familiar.You sign up here using my referral link pretty please (https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/4736270), fill out an in depth style/size profile, pay $20 styling fee, they ship you 5 items, you keep what you want, and mail back the rest.

If you buy anything, your $20 styling fee goes towards that purchase. If you buy all 5 items you get 25% off your order. It is totally free to mail your returns in. They send you all you need to do that.

You can do it as a monthly service or you can just schedule them whenever you want.

To get better items connect them with your style Pinterest board, give them a lot of feedback in the notes section, and fill out your style profile honestly.

For a list of my fix reviews, go here.

IMG_8103

4 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review – March 2017

  1. Other than the dress, I loved your stitch fix. I hope my next stitch fix is like this (as long as the shorts aren’t stretchy). Nice beach colors. I couldn’t justify sending everything back except the necklace so I ended up just sending it all back and hopefully the next fix will have things that work for me. 🙂

    Like

  2. I wish my fix’s were like your fix. The last two fixes and been way below my expectations. Nothing special and boring. I have been using stitchfix for a year had to give it up after paying $20 for nothing really the last two times. So disappointed. The other fixes have been great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

